16 Mazda Powered Racers Took to Sonoma Raceway for the Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear Season Opener

Posted on Posted in Formula Car Challenge, FormulaSPEED, Open Wheel

SonomaRacewaySixteen competitors took to Sonoma Raceway this weekend for the first Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear double header. The weather was beautiful all weekend with temperatures in the mid-70s, and mostly sunny skies.

Pole Positions for Race 1 Saturday March 16th, 2013

  • FM: Mel Kemper Jr. 1:37.96
  • FS2.0: Kyle Kaiser 1:36.83
  • PFM: Andy Brown 1:31.00

In Saturday’s race 2012 FormulaSPEED2.0 champion Michael Whelden was the car to watch. Whelden, who is in the Pro FM class for 2013, had to start from the back of the field as he was found to be underweight in post qualifying inspection. Whelden worked his way through the crowd, and battled with Andy Brown and Andre Eriksen at the front before taking the lead and the overall race win at the checkered flag. Mel Kemper Jr. took the FM win, and rookie Parker Nicklin won in the FS2.0 class.

Race Winners Race 1 Saturday March 16th, 2013

  • FM: Mel Kemper Jr.
  • FS2.0: Parker Nicklin
  • PFM: Michael Whelden

Pole Positions for Race 2 Sunday March 17th, 2013

  • FM: Mel Kemper Jr. 1:37.56
  • FS2.0: Kyle Kaiser 1:36.19
  • PFM: Andre Eriksen 1:31.03

Andre Eriksen who took overall pole position for Sunday’s race led all the way to the checkered flag to secure his first win in cars. Mel Kemper who has been racing in the Formula Mazda class for years, but has not been to Sonoma Raceway since 1996, won again in the FM class. Kyle Kaiser, last years Pro FM champion, qualified on pole and won in the FormulaSPEED2.0 class in race two.

Race Winners Race 2 Sunday March 17th, 2013

  • FM: Mel Kemper Jr.
  • FS2.0: Kyle Kaiser
  • PFM: Andre Eriksen

As part of Goodyear Racing’s partnership with the series, four of the weekend’s drivers won free tires. Tire award winners at this event were Bobby Eberle, John Ertel, Derry O’Donovan, and T.J. Fischer.

Next up for the series is a double header at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca on April 12-14. More information on the series can be found at: